41604: Ministers in Uig

The first post-Reformation minister in Uig was Rev Ronald Angusson, admitted 1572.

The parish of Uig was joined with that of Lochs in the 16th century, but was separated in 1722. The parish included all of the west coast from Carloway to the Harris border. The minister lived at Baile na Cille on Uig sands, where there was a manse (c1780) and first a thatched church, replaced by a fine large church in 1824.

Ministers at Baile na Cille, Church of Scotland

Rev John Macleod MA (Skye). Admitted 30 August 1726, translated to Duirinish, Skye in 1741.

Rev Norman Morrison, 1742; died 1777. According to his report of 1749 (from Tales and Tradition of the Lews) his stipend was 800 merks a year (he was petitioning to have this increased in light of his various difficulties) and his parish contained 259 families, or 1247 souls. To discharge his duties he was obliged to keep a large boat with a crew of six.

Rev Hugh Munro, 1778. Died at Uig Manse 1 May 1823, aged 76, in the 46th year of his ministry. The manse was built in his time and he was well liked. Hugh (or Uisdean) became a popular name in the district.

Rev Alexander Macleod, translated to Uig 1 April 1824. A wing was added to the manse in that year and the new church was built in 1829 to accommodate a thousand people, testament to Rev Macleod’s growing congregation. He was an energetic and evangelical preacher; he led his congregation to the Free Church at the Disruption in 1843, leaving Baile na Cille Church and Manse, but left Uig shortly thereafter.

Rev David Watson, 1845; died 1856.

Rev James Gunn, 1857-1858

Rev Roderick Fraser, 1859-1875

Rev Angus Maciver "Aonghas a Cheisteir" inducted 11 Jan 1876.

Rev John Macphail

Rev Allan Mackenzie, 1906-1919

Rev Murdo Macleod BD

Rev John Macinnes

Rev Norman Morrison

Rev Angus Macfarlane

Ministers at Ceann Langabhat (Miavaig), Free Church, United Free Church and later Church of Scotland

Rev John Campbell (FC), 1846-1879

Rev Duncan Morrison (FC), 1879-1887

Rev Nicol Campbell (FC), 1889-1897

Rev Donald Macarthur (FC and UFC), 1899-1901

Rev James MacNiven (UFC), 1912-1920

Rev Norman Macleod (UFC and CofS), 1923-1962

Rev William Macleod (CofS) 1962-2006

Record Type:
Historical Event
Record Maintained by:

Related Media

Aerial view of the churches at Miavaig

Aerial view of the churches at Miavaig

Baile na Cille Church

Baile na Cille Church

Baile na Cille Church

Baile na Cille Church

Rev Alexander Macleod

Rev Alexander Macleod