36638: Tierra del Fuego

Tierra del Fuego is an archipelago at the southern tip of South America. In 1881, it was divided between Argentina and Chile. The archipelago consists of a main island and a group of smaller islands, separated from the continent by the Strait of Magellan. The southern point of the archipelago, in Chile, forms Cape Horn. The main industries are oil, natural gas, sheep farming and ecotourism.

A substantial number of Lewis emigrants settled in the area.

Record Type:
Also Known As:
Land of Fire
Type Of Location:
Record Maintained by:

Related Media

Ranching in South America

Ranching in South America