949: Canada

Canada is made up of ten provinces and three territories. The provinces are: Ontario; Quebec; Nova Scotia; New Brunswick; Manitoba; British Columbia; Prince Edward Island; Saskatchewan; Alberta; Newfoundland and Labrador. The territories are: Yukon; Northwest Territories and Nunavut. A map of these can be found at canada.ca

Many thousands of emigrants from the Western Isles and other parts of the Highlands settled in various parts of Canada. Among the more significant emigration stories are:

The Red River Settlement (1815)

The Eastern Townships of Quebec (from 1838)

Lewis Settlers in Bruce County (1852)

Lewis Colony in Duluth (from 1860s – some had first settled in Canada before moving over the border to Minnesota)

Emigration on the Metagama (1923)



Record Type:
Type Of Location:
Record Maintained by: